Tuesday, December 01, 2015


Patrol Division

It is the mission of the Big Spring Police Department Patrol Division to provide a safe and secure environment  within the framework of the Constitution to enforce the laws, exercise regulatory authority and preserve the peace while protecting the rights of all and applying the highest standards of professionalism, integrity, and accountability, in partnership with the entire community.

The Big Spring Police Department Patrol Division is comprised of:

  • Two Lieutenants
  • Four Sergeants
  • Six Corporals with 23 Patrol Officers

There are four patrol squads, which work 12-hour shifts.  The 12-hour shift allows officers to have every other weekend off.  Each squad is assigned a minimum of one corporal who assists the sergeants in supervisory duties.  Every officer in the Patrol Division is assigned a vehicle and it is their responsibility to keep the maintenance up and clean their vehicles.  Officers residing within the city can take these vehicles home and use them for personal business while off duty.